FeatherBands and CCO Cookies!

First of all, I started my job today! Woo-hoo! My waistline will most likely thank me for getting out of the kitchen.

Second, I have been participating in lots of boredom busters. One of them was inspired by an Urban Outfitters find on my visit to Bekah in Charleston. I lusted over these adorable feathered headbands for over an hour (Bek and I even wore them around the store for a while), but finally decided that I shouldn’t be spending 30 bucks on something I really didn’t need.

BUT THEN…

I had the stroke of genius to simply make my own! I went to the hobby store, bought my “ingredients”, and went to work. Here is one of my creations. I call it, featherband 2.0 because I designed the feathers to be interchangeable with one another.

Of course, the other boredom buster has been baking and cooking. Today, I stumbled upon the most amazing, mouthwatering, chewy, hardy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies. Peanut butter is used as an emulsifier, and while these are not fluffy cookies, they are worth their weight in salt*. I think I might tweak the ingredients just a bit in later endeavors to get just the right high altitude texture. But the original recipe is from Have Cake, Will Travel… and it is delicious as is (especially if you live at sea level). NOTE: you might want to bake them for only 5 or 6 minutes. 7 might be too long. (If they are crunchier then you like, simply put a piece of slightly damp bread in an airtight container with the cookies–but not touching them–and they will soften by the next day.)

Here is my only slightly modified version of the recipe:

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies


NOTE: Note that these cookies could be dangerously addictive. I cannot repeat the sentiment that one friend (who is not a vegan and was unaware of this cookie’s specialness) expressed toward the cookies, but I can say that these are “meat-eater” friendly and almost too good.


1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour [scooped up and leveled]

1/2 cup quick-cooking oats

1/4 tsp baking soda

pinch sea salt

1/3 cup dark chocolate chunks

2 heaping  Tbs natural peanut butter (be sure it doesn’t have added sugar!)

1 Tbs vegetable or Canola oil

1/2 cup light brown sugar

2 1/2 Tbs soy milk or other milk alternative (I used Coconut Milk)

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Set oven to 375 degrees. Prepare cookie sheet with parchment paper or Silpat (or just lightly oil like I did). whisk all wet ingredients together until smooth. Add chocolate chips and mix to coat.

Sift flour, baking soda and salt together. add rest of dry ingredients to flour.
add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, mix until well combined.

Divide into 8 equal portions, and place on cookie sheet. flatten a bit as these don’t spread much while baking. Feel free to eat a little dough at this point as well! Yum!

Bake for approximately 5 minutes: you want them to be golden brown on top.
leave on cookie sheet for about 3 minutes, then place on a rack to let cool completely.

Yield: 8 large cookies

*I meant to say salt. You see, salt has a very rich history. Literally. It used to be worth more than gold (hence the saying “He is/isn’t worth his weight in salt”) and was even used as currency for a spell. Today, we greatly over-use and under-appreciate this fine mineral. To read about salt, here is a great book about it.

14 June 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Food and Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

