PGPB Road Trip, Part 2

I think I am just now realizing that Vegas is not only a “Mistakes were made” sort of place, but also a “How did I get here?” sort of place. While in the hotel, Caleb jokingly told me to look up Hotwire prices for Vegas… just to see. (We had already gotten an amazing deal on our Montana hotel.) Somehow, three days later, we wound up in the Excalibur Castle Hotel. Oops. But once more, I am getting ahead of myself.

The first stop after Missoula was in Jackson Hole, WY. We had both visited Jackson in summer 2006 and had fond memories of the place, so we felt a drop-in was necessary. We had fun, but I think we both realized how much we are spoiled by Fort Collins… Fun nonetheless.

This guy came out of nowhere!:

We stayed the night at The Hostel in Teton Village and I have to say it was one of the funniest hostel experiences I have ever had. Caleb had never been to a hostel and, being a complete and utter germophobe, he hated every second of it. He was being dramatic, refusing to touch anything, I laughed hysterically and called him names. It was a good night.

On we went, down the road, toward the mystical land of Vegas.

On our way we passed some great towns. Ovid seemed especially appropriate considering Caleb’s and my English degrees. Paris seemed small.

Half a league, half a league, half a league onward…

alas, we reach the mythological city of sin. (At least it is the stuff mythology is made of.)

Our hotel was not an exception to this. Gaudy? You decide:

Ah, who cares. It’s Vegas. I disagree with everything it stands for…

But I may or may not have had fun, anyhow. It’s a tough call.

BUT one marvelous thing about Vegas is it’s proximity to the Hoover Dam. Normally, I am more impressed by nature than man-made constructions that interfere with it, but I do admit that the dam is an engineering marvel and provides 2.08 gigawatts of renewable energy. Plus, it is beautiful for a man-made structure, no?

After Vegas, we were broke and ready for home (though the hotels were amazing). Onward once more! It wasn’t so bad, though. Utah is alluring and I have no qualms with road tripping… especially when great music is in the CD player.

Oh, and then we hit an Elk. Well, technically we ran over it after the car in front of us hit it, but an Elk is no small animal. We were in the Rockies and are lucky nothing more than a tire change was require after the incident. A seriously morbid ending to a fantastic trip. But I feel like the positives outweigh the negative.

Here’s to road tripping in America. The land that I love!

3 June 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . travel.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

