The Bored Chef

(SURPRISE! A new layout that a little lighter on the eyes.)

Due to my unemployment, cooking has been high on my list of boredom-breaking hobbies.

I know I should be saving as much money as possible, but I figure that I need something to keep me from wanting to just sleep all day. Plus, I have been very good and have been shopping for only on sale items (and saved 60% on my fresh produce yesterday!). So here are a few of the recipes I have made over the past several days:

Fresh Summer Salad

This salad was born out of a few fresh ingredients I needed to use in a hurry, and the abnormally hot days that we have experienced here in Colorado. I wanted something fresh, cool, and quick. This was the perfect fix. I used a hand peeler to shred the veggies, but I am fairly certain a shredding blade on a food processor would work just as well (I’ll let you know when I get my food processor… Don’t worry, economic majors, I used a gift card). Here is the unofficial “recipe”:

1/4 zucchini, shredded

1/4 yellow squash, shredded

1 small carrots, shredded

1/4 cucumber, shredded or sliced thin

1/4 cup sauerkraut

2 roma tomatoes, chopped

2 leaves fresh kale, chopped (can also use spinach)

1 Tbs Veganaise or Nayonaise

fresh grind pepper

pinch of salt

lemon juice

Mix the zucchini, squash, carrots, cucumber, sauerkraut, and tomatoes in a large bowl. Add pepper and salt to taste. Mix well. In another bowl, add rinsed and chopped kale (or spinach), Veganaise, and a squirt of lemon juice. Mix well to coat the kale leaves. Add the mixed vegetables and enjoy this summery salad!

NOTE: if using kale, allow for the dressed leaves to sit for about 5 minutes to begin to soften the tougher leaf. If using spinach, immediately add the mixed vegetables to the dressed leaves and enjoy.

Polenta with Asparagus and Chickpeas

This is a recipe that I borrowed from SusanV… but I made a lot of changes to it due to my lack of ingredients (and funds). Click on her link to find her recipe. Here is my “abridged version”:

Polenta

2/3 cup pre-made garlic and basil polenta

1/4 cup vegetable broth

.

Chickpeas

1/4 medium onion, chopped fine

1 glove minced garlic

1 can chickpeas (or 1 1/2 cups cooked)

1/4 cup vegetable broth

dash of  fresh pepper

dash of salt

1 tsp. lemon juice

.

Asparagus

5 stalks fresh asparagus

pinch of salt

dash of fresh pepper

Place the polenta in a small pot, turn heat to medium, add vegetable broth, and mash the polenta into a desirable smooth consistency. This may take a while, so allow it to gently simmer while preparing the rest of the ingredients.

In a larger pan  on medium-high, spray with cooking spray, add onions and garlic, and saute until soft and semi-translucent. Add chickpeas, vegetable broth. Stir and simmer over medium-high heat for about 10 minutes or until most of the broth has boiled down. Remove from heat and add pepper, salt, and lemon to taste.

Gently steam the asparagus for about 4 minutes. Toss lightly with salt and pepper.

Assemble the polenta on the bottom, chickpeas next, and asparagus on the top. Enjoy! Yum!

The third and final recipe for today…. will wait until next time. This post has been long enough. BUT… just know that the next recipe will be delicious PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES! They even have a low fat option if you so wish.

10 June 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Food and Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

